Monday, 21 March 2011

Delete and close Excite email and account FOREVER

Share |
Delete and close Excite email and account

Its interesting how hard sometimes, when you want to delete an account that just haunts you for years. It promises to self-delete if you don't touch it for a few months, but it just sticks around your back and never goes away.

Their instructions for closing their account seems buried somewhere deep in their About page.

To finally get rid of Excite email and account, I provide the link here for you.

Below the abstract from their About Page:
If you have registered with the EXCITE Site you also may choose to close your account at any time by clicking here. You will need to be signed into the member account that you would like to cancel. If you are not currently signed into an account, you will be prompted to so do during the cancellation process. You will also see the option to only cancel your EXCITE email address, and not your entire EXCITE registration, if this is your intention. Please note that it may take up to 48 hours for your cancellation request to be processed. If you are unable to sign in to cancel your account, please visit our lost password page at the following URL:http://registration.excite.com/excitereg/login_help.jsp. After you close your account, you will not be able to sign in to our website or access any of your personal information. However, you can open a new account at any time. If you close your account, we may still retain certain information associated with your account for analytical purposes and recordkeeping integrity, as well as to prevent fraud, collect any fees owed, enforce our terms and conditions, take actions we deem necessary to protect the integrity of our web site or our users, or take other actions otherwise permitted by law. In addition, if certain information has already been provided to third parties as described in this Privacy Policy, retention of that information will be subject to those third parties' policies.

1 comment: